Abuela

My abuela was such a passionate, loving, beautiful, intelligent, feisty, and strong woman. She inspired in me a love for travel. She taught me what it was to be Puerto Rican. And she blessed me with her dancer genes. Though I am sad that she won’t be here in the physical to experience so much of my life, I feel so fortunate to have had the chance to tell her everything she meant to me before she left this plane on March 19, 2008.  I wanted to celebrate my abuela’s life musically, as i love connecting to the divine through singing and dancing, so I wrote “Abuela,” a song dedicated to mi querida abuela.  For those of you that don’t understand Spanish, the lyrics capture how though she is no longer with me in the physical sense she is all around me in nature (she is the sun, the moon, the earth, the sea… she’s within the heavenly womb, universal life) and her memory dances in me -i really do channel my abuela when i dance salsa. Te amo abuela!

“Abuela”

Cada vez que la noche me acompana / Cada vez que las sombras te acercan a mi / Mas alla del pensamiento / Crece en mi un sentimiento

Te veo no estas / Tu recuerdo baila en mi / Cada paso, nota y verso / Todo lo dedico a ti / En mi alma y son / En cada cancion / Eres la razon / Abuela

Eres luna y sol / Cielo tierra y mar / Vientre celestial / Universo vivo

Te veo no estas / Tu recuerdo baila en mi / Cada paso, nota y verso / Todo lo dedico a ti / En mi Corazon / En cada cancion / Eres la razon / Abuela

Maria D.

Maria D.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Abuela

  1. juanita says:

    Lovely! Bless you!

  2. megan says:

    amazing… just wish I could understand all of it! 😉
    love you, love your family.

  3. Carla Stoner says:

    Abuela is so proud of you!!! Watching your journey as it unfolds and leading on your way! I was lucky to have met such a woman!!!

Leave a Reply

