Erykah Badu, Pangea Collective, music with a message…

Yesterday’s performance at the UCLA Jazz Reggae Festival was so much fun! I love festivals- being outside in the sun, the energy, the people, the food, the cute little artists’ booths, the music… OOOhhhhhhh the music! I loved singing and dancing on stage with The Pangea Collective! Check them out- they fuse afro-beat and jazz together beautifully. I really dig “Right Brain Test” – such a hot song! I felt so at home on stage! I also got to stay on stage while ERYKAH BADU was performing, which was unreal for me. She was wearing typical Erykah attire- fabulously eccentric… She had tight black vinyl pants, crazy high patent leather shoes, a gray Public Enemy hoodie and top hat! I wish I could pull of some craziness like that so effortlessly! More importantly though I experienced her essence/energy/message up close. I love how she directed her band- they follow her at the drop of a dime and she kept bringing them out to where it would just be vocals – her solo or with the back-up singers so that the people could really hear/understand/take in what she’s saying. Her lyrics are profound and inspirational… I’m still understanding her lyrics in new ways. It’s interesting how our perception of art changes as we grow… We can listen to an album or see a film or read a poem and get more out of it the more life we live…. I love that! I just recently got more out of her song “On and On” which was out in the late 90s, her lyrics understanding her perception of God…. I live for music with a message….I looked out into the sea of people she was reaching and moving and inspiring! Ahhh I can’t wait to do that in such a meaningful and grand way!  Powerful! 

erykah badu

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Erykah Badu, Pangea Collective, music with a message…

  1. megan says:

    that sounded awesome!!! wish i could’ve been there to see you on stage with her. Powerful indeed.

Leave a Reply

