M.U.S.I.C. album release show! Today’s feature: CHRISTIAN GAMEZ

For the album release show, I’m featuring each band member during this upcoming show week! It has been so much fun interviewing the M.U.S.I.C. makers and getting deep into their musical heads and hearts! They are all ridiculously talented, intelligent, true artists and I’m honored to make M.U.S.I.C. with them! 

Today’s feature: Christian Gamez- DJ

Christian is BEYOND talented… an original dj and being… on the turntables he creates such a lovely blend of genres… he makes the crowd move and feel good… In addition to producing and creating his own music, he’s worked with Jason Mraz and Bushwalla. He contributed his creative skills greatly on Discombobulator, Dance with Me, and Lose Yourself  on M.U.S.I.C. I’m so excited he’s a part of our musical family 🙂

-what’s your 1st musical memory?

1st grade African rhythm class, I played percussion, we got to wear masks when we were performing which was cool cause I was shy.

 

-what’s the craziest thing that’s ever happened while you are on stage?

At a Bushwalla gig I dropped different pieces of my gear like 3 times cause I was intoxicated.

 

-what’s your ultimate dream in music?

Djing, producing with artistic integrity while reaching the masses.

 

-if you weren’t doing music what would you be doing?

Teaching elementary school. 

 

-songs that changed your life…

“Never Entered my Mind” by Miles Davis.

 

-most influential artists to you and why?

I’m just influenced by art in general. Many artists and songs inspire me. There’s not just one particular artist I’m mainly influenced by.

 

-what makes an amazing song?

Honesty.

 

-what’s your theme song?

Marvin Gaye “T Plays it Cool.”

 

-do you have musical nickname?

Bob Necksnapp

 

-what song were you most likely conceived to?

I don’t know but it was probably a cumbia.

 

-first concert you ever went to?

DJ Craze and DJ Qbert and it was a scratch show. I was the only person to get both their autographs. That show was sick.

 

first album u ever bought?

I can’t remember the first album, the first single silk “freak me.”

 

-how can we revolutionize music? 

Real instruments and real intentions… make the focus less about money and more about art.

 

indie or major (what’s the way to go?)

Neither, just create.

 

-what inspires you musically?

Art, women, and records. The challenges they all give me.

 

-what can an artist do (that you’re backing) to make your job easy and fun?

Organization.

 

-what’s your favorite song from the album?

“Lose Yourself” “Discombobulator” “Dance with Me”

 

-advice for up and coming djs”

Play what you like and keep practicing.

 

-what do you hope for the show?

I hope that everybody gets down… that they get off the wall and dance. 

listen to M.U.S.I.C. at http://www.myspace.com/andreebelle or http://www.andreebelle.com

Christian Gamez


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

