M.U.S.I.C. album release show! Today’s feature: BRYAN VELASCO

For the album release show, I’m featuring each band member during this upcoming show week! It has been so much fun interviewing the M.U.S.I.C. makers and getting deep into their musical heads and hearts! They are all ridiculously talented, intelligent, true artists and I’m honored to make M.U.S.I.C. with them! 

Today’s feature: Bryan Velasco -keys

Bryan Velasco is one of the most genius pianists in music today. He is super versatile- proficient in any genre (Latin, jazz, pop, rock, funk, soul…) Bryan’s skills also lead him to playing with one of my favorites, the legendary Celia Cruz. He also is an incredible producer and uniquely revolutionary in his song writing- working with Grammy winner Keb Mo, Macy Gray, Quetzal Guerrero, Tita Lima, Tibetan singer Techung, etc. Stay tuned for his own upcoming project-it’s sublimely one of a kind! Bryan lent his amazing talents to M.U.S.I.C. on “Come a Little Closer,” “Te Necesito,” and “Dance with Me.” Not only is Bryan an amazing musician but he has lovely dance moves that I’m hoping he will use Friday night 🙂 

-what’s your 1st musical memory?

Singing the toki toki song with my mom (Korean bunny song).

 

-what’s the craziest thing that’s ever happened while you are on stage?

Alejandra Guzman doing splits on stage and her mini skirt came up…it was hilarious…

 

-what’s your ultimate dream in music?

To be able to do whatever I want whenever I want- not have to do any gigs I don’t want to do… not have to play… ultimate freedom… To be the best musician I can be in my lifetime… and to take care of my mom and dad.

 

-if you weren’t doing music what would you be doing?

Professional fighter or teach kids…

 

-songs that changed your life…

‘Monk’s Mood’ Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane live at Carnegie Hall… You can see everyones’ personality loud and clearly. That song is bad ass. ‘Village Ghetto Land’ –Stevie Wonder (subject matter, musicality…) ‘Future Shock’ – Herbie Hancock… the whole Rocket Man album that f*cked me up. ‘Lake of Fire’ from Nirvana’s In Bloom, I could keep going and going…

 

-most influential artists to you and why?

Thelonious Monk, Herbie Hancock (the reason why I started playing piano was because of the Rocket Man album…) As a kid, I thought if I started playing piano I could hang out with robots and androids… Stevie Wonder…as far as being influenced it’s ongoing… possibly everything you listen to can influence you if it’s done well… I try to find something I can appreciate in every song. I am open to anything…

 

-what makes an amazing song?

A song that’s interesting from beginning to end, that makes you feel something that you wanna feel again.


-what’s your theme song?

Goza la Vida- Orchestra Aragon 

 

-do you have musical nickname?

Latinos call me Chino, Cubans call me Nara…

  

-what song were you most likely conceived to?

I don’t know and I don’t care as long as it’s not Michael Bolton….

 

-first concert you ever went to?

ZZ Top at the blockbuster pavilion.

 

-first album u ever bought?

Use Your Illusion II (Guns N’ Roses).

 

-how can we revolutionize music? 

If we all stop thinking about money… that would revolutionize music… we have to revolutionize the world to revolutionzie music… it’s all connected…


-indie or major (what’s the way to go?)

Either or… some people do good with major some people do good with indie… right now it’s in to be indie but who knows?

 

-what inspires you musically?

My life.

 

-what can an artist do (that you’re backing) to make your job easy and fun?

To not divert from the plan… if you’re prepared and you come in and kick ass… let things marinate and sound good…

 

-what’s your favorite song from the album?

 All the songs I played on…

 

-advice for up and coming players?

Have fun.

 

-what do you hope for the show?

That it’s the beginning of a wonderful and long career for Andree Belle. 


listen to M.U.S.I.C. at http://www.myspace.com/andreebelle or http://www.andreebelle.com

Bryan playing at Carnegie Hall

http://www.myspace.com/paparelleno

Bryan Velasco

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

