M.U.S.I.C. album release show! Today’s feature: LEO COSTA

For the album release show, I’m featuring each band member during this upcoming show week! It has been so much fun interviewing the M.U.S.I.C. makers and getting deep into their musical heads and hearts! They are all ridiculously talented, intelligent, true artists and I’m honored to make M.U.S.I.C. with them! 

Today’s feature: Leo Costa – drums

Leo is amazing at mixing modern drumming with old school concepts. He’s a sensitive player- he intuitively feels what energy, essence, and foundation a song needs.  From Rio, Brazil, Leo attended Boston’s Berklee College of Music and graduated with a Professional Music Degree, he studied performance, arranging, and music synthesis which also lead him to production and programming. With dexterity ranging from funky, gritty grooves to the complex feel of samba, jazz, and literally everything in between, Leo Costa plays with an authentic, inspired, and soulful intelligence. Leo added his incredible musical feel on Moments, Abuela, When You’re Away, and Rabo de Galo on M.U.S.I.C. Get to know my favorite batera 🙂

-what’s your 1st musical memory?

Listening to my dad’s Stevie Wonder and Jimmy Cliff records and my mom’s Beatles records.

 

-what’s the craziest thing that’s ever happened while you are on stage?

At a gig one time some dude kept asking if my cajon was electric! Then he starts trying to play it while I’m playing it- in the middle of the set. I had to use one hand to push him away while continuing to play the cajon with the other hand! Another time during a jazz gig, during the middle of a beautiful ballad, the singer fell HARD from the stool and from the floor she tells the band to keep playing (as if nothing had happened)…

 

-what’s your ultimate dream in music?

I don’t have an ultimate dream… I just want to keep evolving in music, keep developing…

 

-if you weren’t doing music what would you be doing?

There is nothing else.


-most influential artists to you and why?

Bob Marley, to me is the spokesperson of the 3rd world… he changed my perception on music, politics, life… ‘War,’ ‘Get Up Stand Up,’ ‘Could you be Love’ are some of my favorite songs…. Michael Jackson is a genius in complex simplicity (note: this interview was done 2 days before Michael’s death)…and Billy Cobham, a drummer from Panama, made me realize that this is what I wanted to do at 12 or 13…Also, Djavan for his songwriting, the rhythms in his music, his technique playing and singing…He’s the only artist I’ve been star struck by (other than Prince).

 

-what makes an amazing song?

What makes a good song to me is constantly changing… lyrics, the artist portraying feeling and a message to the listener, a song that makes people move, makes people feel… especially with my instrument I want to do that (make them feel)…

 

what’s your theme song?

My theme song is the same song in different modes.

 

-do you have musical nickname?

Batera, slang for drummer in Brasil.

 

-what song were you most likely conceived to?

Probably some bossa nova song.

 

-first concert you ever went to?

Beastie Boys.

 

-first album u ever bought?

Faith No More’s Epic

 

-how can we revolutionize music? 

Start by bringing LIVE instruments back and also revolutionizing radio- putting real songs on the radio- not catch phrases.

 

-indie or major (what’s the way to go?)

Indie with major distribution.

 

-what inspires you musically?

When people speak through their music passionately and honestly.

 

-what can an artist do (that you’re backing) to make your job easy and fun?

Give love and respect to their musician’s time and craft… you get what you give with your band (and with your audience)…

 

-what’s your favorite song from the album?

“Discombobulator” and “Te Necesito”

 

-advice for up and coming drummers?

Practice hard and run your race.

 

-what do you hope for the show?

For us to kill it, that everyone digs it… I hope it’s a party and that everyone has fun.


Listen to M.U.S.I.C. at http://www.myspace.com/andreebelle or http://www.andreebelle.com

http://www.myspace.com/leocostamusic

Leo Costa

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

