M.U.S.I.C. album release show! Today’s feature: MATT ROBERTS

For the album release show, I’m featuring each band member during this upcoming show week! It has been so much fun interviewing the M.U.S.I.C. makers and getting deep into their musical heads and hearts! They are all ridiculously talented, intelligent, true artists and I’m honored to make M.U.S.I.C. with them! 

Today’s feature: MATT ROBERTS -guitar

The music world is a small world and I realized this even more so when the guy I always loved listening to between classes at USC, who played possibly the most beautiful music to ever come out of a guitar- Matt Roberts- also, grew up with Dre playing music and is good friend of his… I love how we’re all connected! 🙂 Matt is a musical philosopher… he’s flawless in his playing… and though he can be virtuosic he still executes with such feeling. Matt loves to play jazz, rock, funk, soul, etc. and he gives each genre what it needs instinctively and effortlessly… Matt has his own group (The Matt Roberts Group) that is mostly jazz inspired and is currently playing for Solange Knowles. Other artists he has recorded and/or performed with the last few years include Lady Gaga, Pat Metheny, Terrence Howard, New West Guitar Quartet, Left Coast Funk Orchestra, etc. Matt played on “Variety Pack” on M.U.S.I.C. I’m looking forward to FINALLY performing with this musician that I’ve admired so much over the years 🙂 

-what’s your 1st musical memory?

Dancing and singing to “Thriller” and “Born in the USA.”

 

-what’s the craziest thing that’s ever happened while you are on stage?

While playing with Solange in DC, some crazy guy got on stage and tried to dance with the back ground dancers…

 

-what’s your ultimate dream in music?

To have my own musical project, to be able to live off of my own music, and still be co-writing and producing for other artists… continuing to grow as an artist…and to sing way better than I do now…

 

-if you weren’t doing music what would you be doing?

Be a councelor/therapist/psychologist or a writer of philosophical books…

 

-songs that changed your life…

“Bohemian Rhapsody” I was 10 yrs old and for Christmas my dad bought me a boom box and and MC Hammer cassette and classic Queen…. “It’s kind of magic” was the 1st song and I thought how weird… then I heard “Bohemian Rhapsody” and remembered it from Wayne’s World….and loved it!

 

-most influential artists to you and why?

Freddy Mercury was a huge early inspiration. He inspired me to take chances and to be epic. Right now some of my inspirations, Stevie Wonder for obvious reasons…Joe Satriniani when I first started playing guitar, Pat Matheney in my later teen years, and now days I love simple soulful guitar players- like John Mayer- his melodicism.. he cares about every note he plays…now I’m not as focused on what I can do but more focused on what I can give to the moment.

 

-what makes an amazing song?

A song is amazing if it’s true, honest, bold, and well crafted.

 

-what’s your theme song?

I would like it to be “overjoyed” but  this week my theme song is “Rock with you.”

-do you have musical nickname

Names are funny things because our parents assign us titles before we are developed beings… with songs and movies we give the title after the creation… with human beings we get names before we have developed… I don’t know if the name I was given portrays who I am. I’m on a quest for a name that represents more who I am now…. Matt Roberts sounds like a computer programmer…

 

-what song were you most likely conceived to?

Well once again there’s the song I’d like to be conceived to… and then there’s the song I was mostly likely conceived to… being that my mom was the music person, mostly likely an Al Green song or an Allman Brothers song…

 

-first concert you ever went to?

Joe Satriani

 

-first album u ever bought

Pearl Jam’s Ten

 

-how can we revolutionize music? 

There’s revolutionizing music and there’s revolutionizing the business of music. With the art form itself just the concept of writing a good song… not just creating something that is “marketable” or just something that will “sell.” There’s a balance between doing things the way you think they should be done and being open to listening to others ideas/perceptions. (I think it’s good to) always take others perceptions into consideration regardless if you take heed to their advice… It would be interesting if music stopped for a year… no one in the world would hear/play/create any music for a whole year- and then we write… and see what comes out… if we could step away from what we’re doing and go to the beach and meditate and listen to the ocean and fall in love and then write music again…. Also, revolutionizing radio, having radio that is more connected to the people – where people could give suggestions of indie bands that they love and the radio station could filter what is hip and new and play those songs…

 

-indie or major (what’s the way to go?)

a good deal is a good deal a bad deal is a bad deal…

 

-what inspires you musically?

Love, nature, sex, food, different surroundings…

 

-what can an artist do (that you’re backing) to make your job easy and fun?

Listening to the bands ideas, to be willing to take criticism, sometimes major artists can feel that they are above the band… the artist needs to trust their band… and if you make it “big” don’t take extra luxuries (better hotel room, better bus)… live on the same level as the band. Creates respect… obviously the band isn’t getting paid the same as the artist and if they see luxury is going on around them it’s not a good thing. Be humble. Be strong, lead them but be humble.

 

-what’s your favorite song from the album?

“come a little closer”

 

-advice for up and coming guitarists”

Study as many genres as possible, as you discover your strengths harness them…

 

-what do you hope for the show?

I hope that everyone comes out and that we will begin the revolution of music in the world!  

Check out M.U.S.I.C. at http://www.andreebelle.com or http://www.myspace.com/andreebelle!!!!

http://www.myspace.com/mattrobertsguitarist and http://www.myspace.com/mattrobertsgroup

Matt rocking out on the Tonight Show! 

Matt Roberts

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

