M.U.S.I.C. album release show! Today’s feature: ANDRE DE SANT’ANNA!!!!

For the album release show, I’m featuring each band member during this upcoming show week! It has been so much fun interviewing the M.U.S.I.C. makers and getting deep into their musical heads and hearts! They are all ridiculously talented, intelligent, true artists and I’m honored to make M.U.S.I.C. with them! 

Today’s feature: ANDRE DE SANT’ANNA-bass, MD, co-writer and producer of M.U.S.I.C.

There are so many things I could say about Dre’s many musical talents, his production and playing credits, how we first met, how our music evolved… but instead I’m going to share what I wrote to him for M.U.S.I.C.s album thank yous…. 🙂 

Obrigada to my musical soul mate, the love of my life, the man that knows me beyond melody: Andre De Sant’anna. You are the co-writer to my dreams, a true artist in every sense. Your brilliance astounds me. How you create is genius. I have grown so much as a musician, singer, lyricist, writer, and woman because of your encouragement, patience, love, and deep belief in me. You are my alchemist. No one knows how deep we go. I love growing with you and look forward to endless adventures. Eu te amo mais!

-what’s your 1st musical memory?

My dad wrote a song for me on the acoustic guitar when I was a little kid.

 

-what’s the craziest thing that’s ever happened while you are on stage?

In India when we were playing on a police training base and the cadets had been sitting there for hours in their formation in the hot sun…waiting for us to get there to perform (cause they didn’t know when we were getting there)… and then their sergeant told them they could get up and have fun as we played the last song… the guys ran up to the stage super fast and were like little kids- appreciating music for the first time. They had such genuine happiness. They were dancing like crazy. And while this was happening the band was being attacked by giant insects- every kind of bug you can imagine. Attacking our faces, backs, going down our shirts, attacking our instruments. It was pretty crazy.

 

-what’s your ultimate dream in music?

To continue connecting to something greater than us.

 

-if you weren’t doing music what would you be doing?

Definitely something where I would travel. Something where I would challenge people and make them think in different ways… Is there such a thing as a traveling psychologist?

 

-songs that changed your life…

 “Blue and Green” (1st time I heard God in music)… “Idiocracy” by Radiohead… Hendrix’s “Little Wing”… (first time I connected deeply with the guitar).

 

-most influential artists to you and why?

Ultimate in exploration sonically- Radiohead… Miles Davis, Hendrix, D’angelo, Mos Def, Djavan, The Beatles (the white album was influential)…all of these artists were able to create a unique space for us to commune within.  My dad has been influential in my life musically through his bad assness. He taught me to play less notes. And he’s very melodic in his bass playing.

 

-what makes an amazing song?

Something that stops you in your tracks and makes you feel or see something differently… Something that changes something in you.

 

-what’s your theme song?

Herbie Hancock’s “Just Around the World” from Mr. Hands. 

 

-do you have musical nickname

Dre

 

-what song were you most likely conceived to?

I don’t know, something funky

 

-first concert you ever went to?

My dad’s – he was playing for Tim Maia (a Brazilian pop star). I was really proud of my dad.

 

-first album u ever bought?

Dr. Dre’s The Chronic.. (you were late buying an album) Yeah, I was broke!

 

-how can we revolutionize music? 

Giving music back to the artists and taking it away from corporations. Making the music business filled with artistry as opposed to commerce, which gives us more room to explore music and it’s essence and where it came from… even I’m guilty of thinking of a song having to be a certain way – us freeing ourselves from the structure that we’ve created over the last 40-50 years…. It seems like you don’t get funding unless you adhere to the standard. By the artistry given back to the artist, music can be revolutionized. Music can grow… let’s take it out of the mold and give it room to grow…

 

-indie or major (what’s the way to go?)

Indie I like having the idea of having boutique labels… it offers more musical variety. Majors are just way too concerned with not going under… Indies are more open to art.

 

-what inspires you musically?

Other artists, traveling, love, finding obscure hidden gems… like a new artist or song that I’ve never heard before… innovation…

 

-what can an artist do (that you’re backing) to make your job easy and fun?

Them have fun themselves, being thoughtful, realize that we’re all a team…

 

-what’s your favorite song from the album?

“discombobulator”

 

-advice for up and coming players?

Experience as many artists as possible, don’t be afraid to ask ?s and talk to people you look up to, listen to as much music as possible, be in it, live it…

 

-what do you hope for the show?

That everybody has an amazing time and that everybody felt like they’ve expressed themselves. 


Check out M.U.S.I.C. at http://www.andreebelle.com or http://www.myspace.com/andreebelle!!!!

http://www.myspace.com/desantannaproductions

Dre

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “M.U.S.I.C. album release show! Today’s feature: ANDRE DE SANT’ANNA!!!!

  1. Juanita says:

    Proud of you and your achievement and being part of your roots like I know I did just by letting you be the evolved being that you are my son and inspiration too. Thankful to Andree for helping bringing such an important part of your artistry out! Bless you and that you can find that “bigger spiritual ” level in music and life.
    Bless you!

Leave a Reply

