i want to be moved.

“These are some of the questions you must ask yourself: What does the lyric mean to me? Why do I care? What do I want the audience to walk away feeling as a result of my performance? It is not enough that the audience thinks you are a good singer. Singing is only a means to an end – the end you want to accomplish is affecting your audience, making them understand you, convincing them of what is important to you. That is what makes your performance compelling. As an audience member I’m bored when a singer is showing off how pretty their voice is, or how good they look, or how cool they are. It doesn’t affect my life. What they have to say should matter to me. I want to be moved.” written by one of my former voice teachers. i love this… it’s all about making your listeners feel, to think, to be inspired.

photo by Brandise Danesewich

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

