Motown’s Cultural Impact

Smokey Robinson said of Motown’s cultural impact: “Into the ’60s, I was still not of a frame of mind that we were not only making music, we were making history. But I did recognize the impact because acts were going all over the world at that time. I recognized the bridges that we crossed, the racial problems and the barriers that we broke down with music. I recognized that because I lived it. I would come to the South in the early days of Motown and the audiences would be segregated. Then they started to get the Motown music and we would go back and the audiences were integrated and the kids were dancing together and holding hands.”

I’m honored that I was able to pay homage to Motown at Angel’s Piano Bar and Supper Club last Saturday March 12th (aka my Bday show) with some phenomenal musicians (Andre De Sant’anna, Bryan Velasco, Kevin Moore II, Aaron Leibowitz, Aneesah Williams and Anthony Kronfle!

Here are some photos from the night! What a beautiful mix of people getting down! LOVE, connection, and revolution through music!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

