In WONDERLAND

This Valentine’s day I had a truly powerful artistic experience at LACMA’s exhibit “In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States.” I traveled to another dimension through these paintings. The exploration, the colors, and the way these women were courageous enough to bare their souls (their dreams, their darkest parts of them, to go against society’s perception of females with their art)… it was beyond inspiring. Surrealism has always moved me not only because of the dreamlike and other worldly qualities but also because it allows space for our limitless imagination. These paintings felt channeled. They were magical, exquisite, intense, divine, TRANSCENDENTAL. I wanted to take in these paintings with all my senses.. breathe them. Just thinking about it I get excited.  I have been to famous museums all over the World and have never felt such an intense connection to an exhibit! It made me realize that I’ve been starving for artistic inspiration. And this will feed me for days, weeks, months, years, lifetimes.

Here are just a few of my favorites… There are SO many amazing creations! Go see it in person, you deserve the depth of this inspirational experience. It’s such a different feeling being with the paintings and seeing the intimate details closely.

Duality explored in “Las Dos Fridas” by Frida Kahlo.

my all time favorite

I love how the character in Remedios Varo’s “Celestial Pablum” (below) is feeding the crescent moon stardust.  I fell in LOVE with all of Varo’s paintings.. “The Flutist”, “Creation of the Birds”, “The Woman Departing from Psychoanalyst’s Office”, etc. She is magic.

In Remedios Varo’s “Harmony,” the distinctly androgynous scientist is seeking to create a “theory of everything,” using a musical staff, as an organizing device.

The artist, Rosa Rolanda, heartbroken over the end of her marriage depicts herself in turmoil in her below self-portrait. Such a beautifully bizarre representation of the subconscious.

Here’s to imaginative, groundbreaking female artists!

besos!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “In WONDERLAND

Leave a Reply

